According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the divorce rate in Kansas is 8.6 percent. During divorce proceedings, a spouse may need to request a court order for a specific reason until the divorce is finalized. Reasons for obtaining a court order may include child custody, child support, spousal support, or a restraining order.
In Kansas, there is a waiting period of 60 days after one or both parties file a Petition For Divorce. If an emergency exists, the courts may grant a divorce sooner.
The grounds for divorce in Kansas include incompatibility (no-fault), failure to perform a material marital duty, and incompatibility by reason of mental illness. Kansas courts require the divorcing couple to clearly identify and explain the legal grounds under which they are terminating the marriage.
The state of Kansas has specific requirements regarding residency for a couple that is filing for divorce. As such, it is important for divorcing couples to understand Kansas law as it applies to both parties and their children.